Video Play Alongs

I have been creating a number of video play alongs for ukulele that are all listed on the page for video play alongs.  I want to give credit to Dr. Jill Reese (State University of New York at Fredonia) who created the genre of YouTube ukulele play alongs based on “real” recordings, Dr. Louise Anderson (Salisbury University, Maryland), and Kevin Way (Fredonia Middle School) who also have a growing number of resources out there.

The idea is to make play alongs based on “real” recordings embedded with lyrics and “follow the bouncing ball” for ukulele chords.   I have been experimenting with a number of techniques and am settling on some best practices.  I will blog about these later–and Dr. Reese has made a YouTube video about her process: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R2n1Lb9TL9Q

These videos can be used in an educational setting, or used with community play alongs. As Dr. Robin Giebelhausen stated in a ukulele session at ILMEA, “Often times you are tricking them into singing along.”

I have been combining all the videos into a Keynote Presentation that now holds over 100 songs (and is more than 1GB in size!).  I do occasionally cut out some of the introductory material to get right into the songs.

Ever need to save a video to a presentation (so as not to be at the mercy of internet?) Try keepvid.com, but make sure to click on the right choices (otherwise you will experience pop-up ads).

I am interested in making play-alongs for songs that sound GREAT with ukulele, and to also make sure that we are introducing songs that students may not know (or like) but are commonly played at ukulele jams.  We should have some common repertoire that interacts with each other.  Examples?  My new videos of Waltzing Matilda or This Land is Your Land, Dr. A’s or Kevin Way’s (they are different) Three Little Birds, or Dr. A’s “You Are My Sunshine.”

Have some suggestions for me to turn into a video?  Please send me an e-mail!

Comments are closed.

