The Mega List of On-Screen Ukulele Play Along Videos

Notice: This list is now outdated.  The latest list will always be on the Video Play Along Page of this website.

I have been working with a new program, LumaFusion (wonderful!), a $20 video editor that is letting me do nearly everything I need to do to make a ukulele play along video on my iPad, without accessing my MacBook.  I blogged about this on techinmusiced.com earlier today.

My goals are to keep working on the songs that are in the Tampa Bay Ukulele Society Beginner Handbook, as well as to start putting more holiday music into ukulele play along files.

Last week, I went through all of the songs that have been converted to Ukulele Play Along files by various educators, specifically Dr. Jill Reese, Dr. A, Kevin Way, Kris Gilbert and myself.

We can talk about the benefits and drawbacks to this methodology at another time…but as for now, here are over 170 songs that are out there on YouTube ready for your use in educational settings.  They can be used privately, in classrooms, or in ukulele jam sessions.

YouTube has strong Copyright algorhythms, therefore, when a song is under copyright, monetization goes to the rights holder.  Furthermore, I do not believe that any of the educators listed above receive any ad revenue from their contributions to music education.  Most of these songs already have existing “lyric” videos; the addition of chords and “follow the bouncing ball” icons is an additional labor of love (as well as trying to put things into keys that are better for ukulele players).

If you have suggestions for the collection, please let me know.  If you know of others songs by other educators that should be added, let me know.  Additionally, I am not counting play along files that are not based on original performances (e.g. Ukulele Underground).  One of the goals is for students to play with the original instrumentation and sounds.

The list posted here will be static; I will attempt to occasionally update the list of songs on the “Play Along” page of this blog.  The text is VERY small.  It is a PDF, so magnify it to see more detail…and ALL of the songs have an active hyperlink to the appropriate video.

Ukulele Play Along List

 

